Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Get Your Own Diaryland
Designed by Kris 'Destral' Wilke at Destral.net

I'm not sure that I like where the "Millennium Man" is going. Or maybe it's just the men that I am meeting.

Or maybe it's just the way that I was raised.

I dunno.

In the past two or three days I've gone out with two men.

The first was a lunch date and also a very dear friend of mine. We've known each other for a little over two years and made the unfortunate mistake of starting out the relationship dating. He was just overcoming a major break-up and I was so very ready for a steady relationship. (I'm sure you can guess how that ended.)He was even a recipient of one of my world famous 14-15 page letters that briefly detail the schematics of my heart and soul.

(Side note: I'm 0 for 4 on those letters and not sure why I still write them.)

Ok, so we go to lunch, have a great time talking, reveal to each other the wondrous revelations that we've recently had in our lives, he tells me of the amazing things that are going for him professionally, (he's a magician by trade and better at it than he realizes,) and then the check came.

My parents always paid a dinner/lunch check everytime they went out with friends. It was just something that they did. Even when they hardly had any money to their name, they would ALWAYS pay the check. That's a habit that I picked up. It's even almost fun on first dates when both sides are trying to impress the other one.

This gentleman didn't put up much of a fight, and that was ok. We're past the point of him arguing with me over it, as there were many times when we dated that I kept throwing his money back at him, so he's used to it and most likely realizes the futility of even trying. Besides, I had asked him to lunch.

Then there was the second guy. It was a first date scenario. We had a few drinks, went for sushi where we drank a little bit more, and rented movies. We had decided to go for sushi while we were at the bar, and he had excused himself to use the restroom, and I slyly paid the check while he was gone to avoid the credit card war. He thanked me.

I hate to say that I was testing him, BUT......

When it came time to pay for sushi, he got out his credit card, I said, "Hey, put that away, I got it."

And he said, "Okay," and put his credit card away.

:|

HE DIDN'T EVEN PUT UP A FIGHT!

Wasn't he supposed to say something to the effect of "Oh, no, you got the drinks." SOMETHING like that? Being that it was the first date, and first dates are the tool of "feeling someone out," shouldn't it have behooved him to, ya know, try?

Maybe I shouldn't have tried to play the game. Yes, perhaps it was silly to even test his resistance. Sure, at some point in the evening he mentioned that his place of work was undergoing new owners, and though the previous owners paid the workers severance pay, the new owners had not yet paid them, so they were going three weeks without pay, so he was short on cash.....So, why in the world did he ask me out in the first place?

THANK GOODNESS Fate, again, stepped in. I had paid off my credit card online on Friday, but it takes four business days for online payments to post, so my card was declined.

Heh. Good for me.

I try to be a good Millennial Woman. I am fully capable of opening my own door and usually do. I can usually pay for my own meals. Besides that incident, I never leave for a date without being able to cover my own expenses.

But yet, while I'm trying so hard to live up to the equal rights that have been granted me as a woman, why have men stopped trying to be men?

0 Funnies Left So Far

{ previous ~ next }


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com