Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Get Your Own Diaryland
Designed by Kris 'Destral' Wilke at Destral.net

I think I'm done with Renaissance Faires. They just don't excite me as much as they used to. And SOMEONE bailed on me, so it was just me and my mother-in-law.

I like my mother-in-law tons, I really do, but I don't want to spend social time with her. Especially when the social time involves lots of walking and she's wearing a walking cast because her foot is fractured.

My sister-in-law is having a Renaissance wedding (which is kinda weird because she's not one of these people that you would find in the encampments of a renaissance festival) and mother-in-law was looking for costumes she and father-in-law could wear. (I've already decided just to order a $40 thing over the internet that probably won't fit me well, but, eh, not my wedding, I don't have to look purty.) (Also, I wonder if ANY Of us are going to match up centuries in costume.) One of the people running a tent told us of a specific lady to look for in a tent that was way across the lake. We must have looked for this lady for an hour. I mean, *I* must have looked for this lady for an hour. Mother-in-law eventually had to sit for awhile.

So, while I was walking around, people just started to really annoy me. There were the ones that were smoking ye ol' cigarettes. Then there were the ones in "garb" that weren't talking the talk. Then there were the ones in garb that WERE talking the talk. (I told you, everyone just really annoyed me.) I stopped to get the home-made rootbeer and that made me happy. I mostly like the part where they ring the bell because I tip them. But then there were the people with black and white paint on them to look like.... WHAT??? What in the world? Ye ol' FREAKS with black and white paint. And then I never found this lady. So, if there's every a lady at a Ren Faire with the booth named "Ghost in the Mirror" or "Ghost in the Looking Glass" kick her ass for me. I hate her. Stupid wench.

THE most annoying thing that I saw: A guy with his wife and little girl (probably 3 or 4 years old) stopped to talk to one of these annoying black and white painted people (with really slutty clothes on) And the guy said, "See, honey, you'll be wearing stuff like this when you're older." and the little girl started crying. I mean, that part was really funny, and the slutty painted girl said, "Aww.. Well.. I'm sorry... um.. I guess we'll go now." and the guy said, "Heh.. yeah, but she will be dressed like that when she's older."

What the CRAP!!! "YES!! I will be PROUD to have my daughter dressed like a skank like you!! Maybe she'll be lucky enough for someone equally skanky to do the painting!!"

This is what really shut me down for the whole ren faire thing. Everyone and everything is so contrived... I mean, of COURSE it's contrived... but everyone thinks they're so COOL just for being there, and I'm sure in their circles they are, but that doesn't help the annoyance factor.

I never really understood that saying, "I would never be a part of any club that would have me as a member." I always thought that the person who said it thought that he was too good for clubs, which, yes, in essence he did. But only this year did I understand why. It's the PEOPLE in these clubs. HOLY COW!! (See, there were this pair of shoes with springs that I wanted, until I saw the people at work that wore them... but the saying also holds true of how I now feel about Ren Faire.)

I did see someone that I used to work with, and I gave him my phone number again cause he always loses it because he sucks.

I didn't really get to look around as much as I would have liked. But my mother-in-law did come to the conclusion that she wouldn't be able to find a costume there that's cheaper than the lady that she's already been to and already took the sister-in-law to. So I'm really glad I took her.

Bah!!! I don't mean to sound so bitter... but, Ren Faire has been something I've looked forward to for the past 9 years... I mean, they even have corporate sponsorship now, so the entertainment is a little better, but this year I just found that none of it moved me anymore.

Except the root beer.. Mmmmm fresh brewed honey root beer..

0 Funnies Left So Far

{ previous ~ next }


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com