Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Get Your Own Diaryland
Designed by Kris 'Destral' Wilke at Destral.net

So. As I said, I went to Ye Olde Ren Faire on Friday. It was a bit of fun. I actually got to catch one of their jousting thingies. I usually miss them every year.

Then, I quickly bought something for my hair. I've decided that each year I will buy something for my head. Last year it was one of those cheapy wire circles covered in ribbon with a bunch of ribbon hanging down the back. This year I bought a kinda foofy headband with a hair net to attach it to. See, there it looks kinda fun, having your hair in the net thingy. But, wear it away from the Ren Faire, and it just looks like ya got off of work from Mc Donald's or somethin'.

I had a Ye Olde English beef and pork roll while I was waiting for people to call me to meet up. I ate it while watching very, very, very, very, VERY bad belly dancing. The beef pork roll was actually quite delicious. It was a roll of beef and pork that just tasted unhealthy wrapped in a tender, flaky crust. I think I would be alright if I never ever had one again, but I'm glad for the experience.

I made the mistake of buying Ye Olde beer. I love to buy drinks there though because when I tip, they scream out, "HUZZAH!!! GENEROUS LADY TIPPER!!!" And then everyone yells out, "HUZZAH!!!!" It's too bad I can't do that at work. Well, I guess I could, but I doubt anyone would be thrilled about that. Hmmmmm.

I say it was a mistake to buy the beer because then I was forced to use the Ye Olde Port-o-potties not once but TWICE! It's a little horrifying. It's just one of those times that I REALLY wish I was a man. You get that little tub to the side that you just kinda piss into. That's pretty cool. For women, not so cool. You're certainly not going to sit on it, so you have to do the squat thing, but since it's a port-a-potty, there's not a bunch of room in front of you to get a good squat. You have to resort to leaning back with your hand behind you and hope you're far back enough to not piss on your pants. On the bright side, they had that hand sanitizer stuff.

I also bought a Ye Olde Japanese-type umbrella. It's black and it's beautiful, and it looks like a REALLY big cocktail umbrealla. I've always wanted one. No idea what I'm going to use it for. I don't think it's really rain-worthy, not that it rains much here in Ye Olde Las Vegas, and I'm not out much in the sun to warrant being one of those people that carry an umbrella for it.

The last thing I bought was a white t-shirt with the words "Her Highness" embroidered in gold on it. Ex-RRE pointed it out to me on the wall of one of the carts, so I sought it out. As I was figuring out which size I wanted Ex-RRE's boyfriend passed it as it was hanging on the wall and said, "Oh, that would be PERFECT for FG, has she seen it yet?" So there you have that.

I've also found my future staple gift. This couple were selling bottles that had stuff at the bottom. Some had sugar and coffee. Some had herbs. Stuff like that. And what they were, were bottles of ingredients so that you could add your own alcohol or oil or whatever and make your own wine/cordial/italian salad dressing/bath additives. I mean, you couldn't do them all with one bottle, but there were stuff for each. Fantastic stuff. I decided what I wanted, but I wanted a different design on the bottle. I got her card though. Huzzah.

There was even a blacksmith demonstration. That was neat for a second, but it didn't seem like they were going to come to a climax in the show. (not *that* way, jerk) It just looked like they were making a big ass chain of some kind for some reason that none of us could fathom. I wanted to ask if they were going to finally make a clasp or do *something*. I'm sure they were happy whatever it ended up being.

It was twice as big this year as it has been in years prior. That in itself was very exciting. They even utilized the park's pond using the little island in the middle as a stage for their bands. And the bands were pretty decent themselves. They even sang "She'll Be Comin' Round The Mountain" except it was Celtic style.

All in all, a bit of fun. I enjoyed it. I hope to catch some of the good acts next year.

Yay.

0 Funnies Left So Far

{ previous ~ next }


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com