Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Get Your Own Diaryland
Designed by Kris 'Destral' Wilke at Destral.net

Everyone, let me introduce you to Engagement Ring, Rally Edition...

Or as I like to call it...

RING OF DEATH!!

Hehe... Betrothed, Rally Edition HATES it when I call it that. Sure, I can understand, but, dammit, I love my ring. It needs its own personality.

I would like to, again, tell you how incredibly happy I am. It's just the most amazing feeling I've ever had.

I was engaged once before...except that the ring was a cubic zirconia, I'm not fucking kidding. Not to mention that he used our debit card from our joint account to pay for it. So, not only did I get a crappy ring, but I paid for half of it. At the time, when I told people, I got a lot of "Oh, wow. good for you. I hope you guys are happy. Mmhmm. Yep."

But NOW. Holy COW. It's real. And it's a big fucker. Not only did I not pay for it, I didn't even have to pick it out. (I need to tangent here for a bit to say that there is nothing more incredible than being COMPLETELY surprised by it. He did a LOT of research to make sure I got an incredible diamond. He designed the ring that he felt suited me the best. He did a GREAT job, and, to me, it means a bunch much more that he did it that way. And, ya know, I think I would be just as pleased if it wasn't as quality as it is....but... as it is, it kicks ASS!) And when I tell people, now they're like, "OH MY GOD" (hug) "CONGRATULATIONS!" (hug) "He is SUCH a great guy. He's really sweet." (hug) "And he has wonderful taste in women." (hug) "You guys are a perfect couple." (hug)

I'm getting a little sick of the hugs from people that I don't really know. But it does reaffirm my suspicions that he is a great guy. He is really sweet. And that we are a perfect couple.

I've also learned that engagement rings/wedding rings are another thing to be self conscious about. When one woman is showing off her new engagement ring, you absolutely do not compare. (Which makes sense, cause there's no point in trying to steal the girl's [in this case "MY"] thunder.) But then I thought, "If we were men, we TOTALLY would."

Man scenario:

"Hey, Dumbass, look here. The girlfriend finally popped the question. Check out the rock she put on my finger."

"Yeah. That's not bad. My wife got me a pretty nice one when we got engaged. Oh. I think it might be a little bit bigger than yours though."

"Oh yeah. It just might be. WHOA, but check out the clouds in yours. The clarity in mine is a 'G'. That's the near-perfect rating, my friend."

Heh. Yeah. Women just aren't like that.

Here's how it goes. The showing, the squealing, the hugging. Now, IF the woman is very proud of hers, she'll comment on how there's no feeling like it in the world and do a little knowing left hand wrist flick to draw a little attention to hers. Not a lot. Just enough.

If she's not as proud, she'll look and REALLY try to be happy, glance at her own, and walk away. There was even one that said, "Hmm.. I think my husband needs to upgrade me. It HAS been 15 years."

It's kinda really weird.

Ok, go back to staring at it.

0 Funnies Left So Far

{ previous ~ next }


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com