Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Get Your Own Diaryland
Designed by Kris 'Destral' Wilke at Destral.net

When I was in Kauai, Hawaii, the place was FULL of chickens. Chickens EVERYWHERE. Literally, EVERYWHERE.

We were in the parking lot at the mall, a rooster and a chicken, pecking away near in the grass around the median area where a stop sign was. Driving down the highway, chickens along the sides of the roads. Local artwork, chickens (roosters specifically) in every picture.

So, as you can see, when I say there were chickens everywhere, I do really mean it.

And it's an interesting dynamic. We are used to roosters fighting to the death to be the main man of a chicken coop. (I mean, I think we're used to that, right? Ya know, to be honest, I don't really know the life of chickens, but I thought that's how it went down.)

In Kauai, the roosters were EVERYWHERE, and they all had one hen with them, and then some had chicks, some did not. It just seemed like the roosters were cool with each other. See? Hawaii relaxes EVERYTHING.

So, the reason that there are chickens everywhere is because people had chickens as pets, as people occasionally seem to do. But after Hurricane Iniki, September 11, 1992. (It's just not a good date, is it?) the chickens got released, and they have grown fruitful and multiplied. They don't seem to be damaging the islands ecosystem, and they don't really bother anybody.

But they are the cause of the quote of my Hawaiian week:

There was a rooster about to cross the road. There were cars coming and the rooster was hesitant to finish crossing but had already started. The cars had slowed down (presumably used to chickens darting out in front of them) and the chicken crossed and I believe him to be having chicken thoughts equivalent to "ohshitohshitohshit.."

He made it across, and I yelled out, "WHY'D YOU DO IT????"

(snort)

1 Funnies Left So Far

{ previous ~ next }


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com