Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Get Your Own Diaryland
Designed by Kris 'Destral' Wilke at Destral.net

I have had a cough the likes of which I haven't seen in YEARS... 3 years to be exact...specifically since I quit smoking.

But it is back, but this time disguised as a "cold", or as medical personnel like to call it to make it sound important enough for you to get the day off of work, "upper respiratory infection."

It all started as just a cough. An innocent little cough. Unusual, but mild enough. No phlegm. Short in duration. And it just kinda ballooned into this whooping cough waking me up at all hours of the night.

I finally bit the bullet and went to a QuickCare, and they filled my pocket full of Zyrtec (what? why?), Robitussen AC (that's with codeine, ya'll), and some antibiotics, which the sister-in-law got annoyed by because antibiotics should not be used until something like this develops into something more serious. He gave it to me to keep it from becoming something more serious, but that's why we (and other countries) are having such a problem with antibiotics and their efficacy. But since I haven't even used antibiotics for over a year, we think I'm safe, but you other antibiotic poppers, knock it off, and tell your doctor to knock it off too....

...hmm....can you tell that I'm on the codeine right now?

I'm also home sick from work. My dog loves me being home. I think I'll go play with him. Might share some of my codeine with him. Don't judge me.

Alright, I'm just kidding, put the phone down.

Also, I'm still not exactly clear as to why they gave me Zyrtec for my cold. Something about the mucus. Just so you know, freakin' expensive and for now there isn't a generic. I'd skip this if I wasn't insured, and I'm not sure I'd be worse off. My belief is that this doctor was recently visited by the Zyrtec representative.

Also, I dislike prescription drug representatives, except for my neighbor because she's cool and she's soon to quit her job to raise her child. But forreal, a big problem in healthcare is the drug companies and what they give the representatives to give the doctors to push their product. It's raising your healthcare costs, be educated.

My sister-in-law does not accept these gifts from the drug companies. She goes out of her way to avoid the representatives. We bought her a mini-fridge specifically so that she could eat lunch in her office and avoid them. These people offer incredibly expensive dinners, even spa weekend retreats. I mean, think about how many doctors they are romancing. And think about how much money you could be saving on prescription medications.

Another reason to go generic when you can.

Ok, me, dog, codeine.

2 Funnies Left So Far

{ previous ~ next }


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com