Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Get Your Own Diaryland
Designed by Kris 'Destral' Wilke at Destral.net

Get out your noisemakers! It's almost time to celebrate!!!

That's right! We're coming up on...

OUR 1000TH EXECUTION! (Since capital punishment was re-instated in 1976, ironically enough, the year I was born.)

Sure, it' won't be Robin Lovitt, but my country won't let me down!! We're are more than happy to legally kill people! WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO! I'll keep my face turned to Texas. Those boys know how to wield a syringe like Ty Murray can rope a cattle. (I don't really know what that means, but I thought I would stay with the whole Texas....thing..)

Anyway...

I'm a little disappointed that we still kill people. Yeah, I understand that we kill them because they kill other people, but I'm not down with the eye for an eye thing. I don't see how that works. I mean, I understand how it works, but I don't see how it makes sense.

I've been looking to see if it fiscally makes sense to put someone on death row rather than life without parole. I had understood it that death row ends up costing the taxpayers more (with cost of appeals and the waiting time between sentencing and execution), so that really put me against the death penalty. However, now I've learned that no one really knows which costs more because as life without parolers get older, then medical costs come into play. Medical costs have tripled for prisons in the past 10 years.

But, most importantly, while doing my research, I found THIS!!!

I always knew they existed, but I never really had a reason to come across it-The Death Row Inmate Pen Pal Page. That's not what it's called, but that's what it is. You can find a death row pen pal from anywhere in the United States (except New York, wonder why) and other countries such as China and Iran.

There is a couple in Nigeria that have been sentenced to death *by stoning* because she gave birth to his baby while married to another guy. That's some seriously fucked up shit right there.

(sigh) Love the internet.

Oh, my point. I'm mostly against capital punishment.

My favoritist commercial right now is the "above the influence" anti-drug commercial where someone off camera asks two girls who are in a living room something, and the one girl is on one couch and she's....flat... and the other girl says, "She can't answer you. She smokes marijuana. We used to go out and have fun, but since she started, this is all we do."

That's totally me, dude! I'm completely useless when I'm high. I kinda wish I had smoked pot right before seeing that commercial. It would have been funny.... for me anyway.

Ok, and tie it all together...

If pot were legalized, we could save 7 Billion dollars a year. BILLION. Then we could keep inmates in jail for as long as wanted. Hell, let them bring their families.

Edit: We made it! One Zero Zero Zero. The winner, Kenneth Lee Boyd in Raleigh, North Carolina. (You let me down, Texas.)

But the party doesn't last long. South Carolina can't stand being shown up by their brothers in the north, so they'll give us 1001 Friday night..

God Bless America.

2 Funnies Left So Far

{ previous ~ next }


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com