Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Get Your Own Diaryland
Designed by Kris 'Destral' Wilke at Destral.net

There are few things of Americana that I have really felt like I "missed out" on.

One is the poodle skirt. In jr. high, my best friend and I would dress up as 50's girls every year on Halloween because we adored the poodle skirt. (It was cool because her dad owned a 50-something Chevy and he would drive us to school in it.)

Another thing I feel like I missed out on is "free love". I mean, I partied a bit when I was younger, (just a little, I swear, shut up, Pat,) but there was that ever looming AIDS hanging over my young adult, alcohol soaked crown. I don't think I'm the only one that feels this way, just one of the few women that will admit she feels this way.

About a month and a half ago I discovered another piece of Americana that I really, really feel that I completely missed out on.

The Aristocrats.

Penn Jillette of Penn & Teller fame and Paul Provenza of (mumble mumble) fame etched onto film the most (in)famous filthiest joke that most of us never heard of.

It's not even a good joke. And, really, it's only as filthy as the person telling it. And that's really the thing about the joke.

The joke was the comedian's secret handshake. This joke has been passed down from entertainer to entertainer since the days of vaudeville. The only thing in common from one person's telling to another are two things

"This family walks into a talent agent's office..."

and

"What do you call that?"
"The Aristocrats!"

The middle where I put "and" is usually full with vile, filthy things. Lots of f'ing and s'ing. Yes, I realize it's a family. Yes, I know I'm putting f'ing and s'ing where a family is involved. In some versions, they put animals in too. And that's why it's the filthiest joke ever.

I hate to say "if only", but if only I had realized my comedianic dreams 10 years earlier, I could have heard this joke the right way-in the backroom of some crappy comedy night club in between shows.

Well, ya know, maybe. The movie had some very prominent comedians who hadn't heard it. (But they were mostly English.)

The movie is the history of the joke. A few comedians' variations of the joke. Variations of the joke. (I know it seems like I said that twice, but I know what I'm talking about.) Problems in the telling of the joke. (i.e. people would say "Aristocats" instead of "Aristocrats".) (Which is kinda funny because everytime I told someone I was going to see the movie, they inevitably said, "Is that a cartoon?") (Yes, you're very clever, you know who you are.)

I loved this movie. I LOVED this movie. I loved THIS movie. It was hilarious. If you're one of my friends, you can go ahead and plan on watching it when it hits DVD. You're lucky if I don't make you watch it twice.

Anyway, the movie is an absolute must-see for any comedian, and a definite should see for anyone who has respect for comedy.

2 Funnies Left So Far

{ previous ~ next }


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com