Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Get Your Own Diaryland
Designed by Kris 'Destral' Wilke at Destral.net

Last night went alright. I took my notes up and read from them, and it was ok. It got long, and no one really listened, and also from what I understand, hardly anyone could hear me.

It's my worst nightmare. Being on a mike and STILL no one can hear me. My tiny voice is also why I can't stand to be on the phone. I HATE the phone. When I was a teenager, I would be on the phone for 16 hours at a stretch, but now, I can't frickin' stand it. If you call me and tell me something that you can just as easily e-mailed to me, I start to scream.......but at least then you can hear me.

The crowd at the bar I've been doing comedy in sucks completely. Before I started doing this, I had visions of me being so frickin' good that people can't help but laugh.....and life just isn't that way, is it?...especially when they can't hear you.

I say that last night's set was alright, but I am hugely disappointed. I went up with gold and got a tepid response. My husband says that I just need to perform somewhere else...and my head just takes over and says stupid crap like, "Yeah, that'll help. If I can't even get the idiots at Norma Jeane's to laugh, how the hell do I expect to go somewhere and make anyone else laugh?"

Last week's set was completely disheartening, but I got over it since I was sure that this week's set was going to be 42% better, but it wasn't. And the disheartening is setting in again.

So, I'm taking a few weeks off. Give myself time to come up with a killer set beginning to end and time to memorize it all so I won't have to focus on a paper and can focus on my voice. Man, this comedy stuff just keeps getting harder and harder.

Just a few weeks ago I was flying so high off of it, member? I'm not gonna give up...I just need more to get high now. :)

3 Funnies Left So Far

{ previous ~ next }


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com