Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Get Your Own Diaryland
Designed by Kris 'Destral' Wilke at Destral.net

Ok. Sorry my last entry was a little disjointed. I was drunk. What was worse is that I didn't even realize I was drunk until today.

I came upstairs to the office to update this thingy to tell ya'll how awesome I was last night, and as it turns out, I already updated.

To let you know, I did much better than ok...I mean, for a first-timer. I really did do better than the other folks that went up there, and they had all done it before.

......well, my first set was better than all of theirs. My second set, I leveled the playing field. I just went up totally drunk, and I was just kinda mumbling, I was swinging around on the stool. It is also on tape, but very few of you will see it. It's going straight to the vault.

You can see it after I'm dead or deliriously famous... or both... ya know, like Tupac.

Back to my first set; everything went really well except for my flow. I brought my cheat sheet up there, and I kept having to consult it, which really eff'd up the flow, so I just started breathing into the mike while I did it. It was good for a chuckle. I had a few good nuggets. I know what to keep and what to let go from what I presented, and that's exactly why I'm doing it.

I'm still amazed by the whole thing. Everyone kept telling me the size of my cajones for going up there, but that really wasn't the issue. I have a theatre background, so it's not getting up in front of people that bothers me, it's performing material that I "get." And, since I wrote it, I definitely "got" it, so I was comfortable being in front of everyone. HOWEVER, the reason I was nervous was because I wasn't sure everyone was going to "get" me.

And I think everyone did.

When the MC, Davyo, introduced me, he called me the "star of the show" because I had brought more than half of the audience. That was kinda cool too. But the best part, for me, was when I got off stage and he looked at me and said, "You've really never done this before?" That was pretty f'n awesome.

I mean, I do know I'm funny, but after the first time of something like that, it's only natural to think that your friends are saying, "You did really great" because they love you and don't want to see you cry, but when someone you've never met before tells you that you did a good job doing something he's been doing for YEARS...well, it means something.

Also, I drove my husband's friend to the airport today, and he has a habit of being brutally honest, and he said to me, "I don't know if I made my opinion clear last night.... but you're fucking hilarious."

Honestly, I don't even feel like I was onstage last night. I mean, most of my friends were there, so it was more like I was hanging out, relaying some stories like I always do. And some of my friends were stoned, and I was drunk, so, really, it was JUST like hanging out, relaying stories.

Yeah, it was fucking awesome, and just like I've said before, I'm going to do it again and again.

You really should see me now before it costs $50 a ticket plus tax and "convenience charge."

0 Funnies Left So Far

{ previous ~ next }


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com