Newest Entry
Older Entries
Contact Me
Get Your Own Diaryland
Designed by Kris 'Destral' Wilke at Destral.net

My bad. I gave bad information saying that "I, Robot" the movie was based on actually the third book of Isaac Asimov's "Robot" series.

I would like to make the correction now.

"I, Robot", the movie, wasn't based on ANY of the the "Robot" books.

No, I'm serious. The only way it had anything to do with Isaac Asimov's series was that it had robots in it. Ok, they put Mr. Asimov's three laws into it too......but otherwise....

Even the end credits say "Suggested by Isaac Asimov's books. To which I say, BULLSHIT!! I mean, not anymore suggested by his books then by Kubrick's and Spielberg's "A.I." In fact, it was more based on the Wachowski brothers' Animatrix cartoon, "Renaissance Part 1 & 2" than it was on Asimov's books.

Now, don't get me wrong. It was a pretty fun flick. I'll probably rent it on DVD to see all the extra stuff.....like, for instance, all the scenes that were clearly cut out of the film, but Asimov's gotta be rolling in his grave. It seems to me that he wrote his books to be pro-robot. Anything that happens would be human error. However, the movie seemed to promote robot fear. Ya know, like the Matrix. "The machines are taking over."

Which, sure, sells movie tickets, and that really is the point.

On the other hand, it's kinda fitting. In fact, it seems that things have come full circle. One of, if not the first, story that Isaac Asimov read that got him interested in robots was a short story called "I, Robot". *His* collection of short stories, "I, Robot" was not originally called "I, Robot." When his publisher changed the name, Isaac said, "we can't do that, there's already a short story called that." And they just kinda said, "yeah. and? your point would be?" So, really, this is just evolution.

On the other other hand, perhaps Asimov's books were too naive. Maybe there is something to the "ghost in the machine." Maybe this is something Asimov would have written in this day and age. Maybe I *should* live in fear of my PC.

Oh wait, I do. "don't freeze, don't freeze, don't freeze.......DAMMIT!"

:D

0 Funnies Left So Far

{ previous ~ next }


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com